Kathy’s Ghost

 

Kathy’s ghost approached me on the porch while I was having a cigarette. I don’t care to smoke out front, but it’s covered.
She’d just died. I was unsure why she’d haunted me first, and told her so. I liked her, even warmly, but wasn’t nearly so close to her others were. I told her this too.
She said she was ‘more than able’ to visit many people at once.
I lit another cigarette, and threw the old one in the rain puddle at my foot. She didn’t say much, I said less, which is not like me, but I was scared.
She hugged me, or the plant next to me, it wasn’t clear, and a few shades of colour returned to my eyes. The hug made it easier to breathe, so I had another cigarette.

Leave a Reply

